Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
PressRelease_IWPA Announces Industry Design Excellence Awards-Call for Nominations

IWPA Industry Excellence Awards - Call for Nominations

Alexandria, VA – The International Wood Products Association (IWPA) today announced the call for nominations for its Annual Awards Program.

Creating compelling and unique designs for both residential and commercial spaces often begins with exotic woods. They are recognized for their beauty, warmth and durability, and can transform any project into an award winner. IWPA's Awards Program recognizes and rewards aesthetic excellence, environmental excellence and innovative excellence in the design, use, distribution and management of tropical wood products.

Now in its third year, the IWPA presents its annual industry awards to recognize companies within the global wood products industry. “The awards are designed to bring about a greater knowledge and awareness of the benefits of using tropical wood,” stated Brent J. McClendon, IWPA executive vice president. Adding, “Acknowledging the best practices and innovations occurring in the imported wood industry, from the forest to the construction site, enables designers, architects and U.S. manufacturers to expand their palette of opportunities.”

Nominations this year are being accepted from both IWPA members and non-member companies. All nominees are highlighted during IWPA’s annual convention and winners receive recognition in IWPA’s International Wood magazine. There is no fee to submit your design project, only a Word document and low res images. The deadline to submit a nomination is February 28, 2012. Learn more about how to nominate your design project for an IWPA Industry Excellence Award.

(Recipients of IWPA's Awards for Excellence program exemplified best practices and inspired our industry to reach even higher. Click each company link below to review their submission and read the recipients, "Winning With Wood" feature articles in the 2011 edition (pg 62-63) and 2010 edition of International Wood.)

Elof Hansson USA - IWPA 2011 Award Winner for Aesthetic Design and Environmental Excellence for their innovative new decking concept, Ipanema, which utilizes 36-FSC certified lesser-known species. Winners
UCS Forest Group - IWPA 2011 Award Winner for Innovative Excellence for bringing Accoya wood to market. Accoya is produced from fast growing species that is essentially transformed into a product with characteristics similar to tropical wood.
2010 Award Winner for Aesthetic Design Excellence. Veneer Technologies reflected the market's demand for made-to-order exotic faces in an annual woodworking competition that bridges imported species and end-use applications. IWPA 2010 Environmental Excellence winner, Cikel, for their role in advancing the University of Kansas School of Architecture and Urban Planning students' understanding of sustainable building. 2010 Award Winner for Innovative Design Excellence, Durable Wood Products, after developing its Turada-brand wallaba shingles, an effort that included reaching out to architects and designers to demonstrate the value of underutilized tropical hardwoods.



IWPA - 4214 King Street - Alexandria, Virginia 22302
Phone: 703/820-6696; Fax: 703/820-8550; email

Copyright © 2008-2018 IWPA - All rights reserved

Connect with IWPA
Find us online in several social media forums.



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal